/beloved hawai'i

Scroll and click for more...

Show More
Creation of Hawaii

Hawai'i is a chain of volcanic islands in the north central Pacific. The islands were formed by lava pouring through an opening in the ocean floor. This lava formed mountains that eventually rose above the ocean's surface. There are about 130 islands in the Hawaiian chain. The seven largest inhabited islands are Hawai'i, Maui, O'ahu, Kaua'i, Moloka'i, Lanai'i and Ni'ihau.